Cafe Review: Union Market

The week before my New York trip, I stumbled up on a rare coffee treat. I was doing errands on East Hastings and a friend recommended the Union Market as a cute place to get a coffee. It was a couple of blocks off the main road, but well worth the walk. I didn’t really know what to expect, but I always love a good surprise!

Union Market
Union Market

REVIEW: Union Market
810 Union St
Strathcona, Vancouver

Rating: 4/5 Stars

The Union Market is a local corner store crossed with a café. The surrounding area is super cute. It was full of painted wooden houses; the kind that hang Halloween decorations and own fat, friendly cats. Inside the store has a nice mix of fresh produce, convenience items and then right in the middle is the cashier/coffee bar.

Union Market
Union Market

As a general rule I haven’t had the greatest coffee from tiny corner stores. But this was a pleasant surprise. It was aromatic with proper, unburnt flavour and a nicely balanced milky. Given that I’ve previously had a disappointing coffee at a fancy looking café, maybe it’s fitting that I had a good coffee from an unassuming corner store.

Union St Union St
Locals on Union St

To top it off, their hot apple cider sounds interesting. I was told that it’s made from organic apple juice and a chai mixture. If I could have justified ordering the latte and a hot apple cider I would have.

I’m not sure how often I’ll be in the area, but if you are stop by the Union Market. Try the hot apple cider and let me know what it’s like!

Leave a Reply

