Bellingham and Seattle (Part 2)

As I previously mentioned, I had high hopes for my road trip to Bellingham and Seattle. It was a test run for all the road trips I’m hoping to do in North America. So if it didn’t work out, I probably shouldn’t have bought the van.

This was my second time in Seattle and, as much as I enjoyed the nature and scenery of Snoqualmie National Forest, it was great to be back in downtown Seattle.

Seattle
The Seattle Museum of Flight

The city is a lovely mix of bustling action and diversity, and all set with Washington State’s lush and slightly rainy charm.

If I’m honest, I didn’t do a lot of exploring on this trip. I’d already gone up the Space Needle (the view is lovely) and been to the EMP Museum (a museum of music, sci fi and popular culture, lots of fun and very interesting). So instead my boyfriend and I spent the whole day indulging our senses at the Pike Place Market.

Seattle
Exotic produce at the Pike Place Markets

The Pike Place Market is a Seattle institution and tourist attraction in it’s own right. It’s a hub of local speciality food and craft stores, a farmers market and seafood restaurants all rolled into one. In some ways it’s the perfect tourist attraction. There’s a lot to see and do, it says a lot about Seattle’s culture and with all the free samples it’s cheap fun.

We started the day with chocolate croissants and coffee at Le Panier bakery. Don’t be put off by the huge line. It moves quickly and the chocolate croissant was worth it. Then after sampling cheeses and truffle oil, we had a peek at the first ever Starbucks. I have to put it out there: I didn’t know Starbucks started at Pike Place until we arrived. But once we went inside I understood why people were queuing. This is where Starbucks started. It’s like you’re average, local café. Except it went on to take over the world. It’s crazy when you think about it.

Seattle
Starbucks: Established in 1971

After Starbucks we perused local farmer’s produce, wandered through isles of spices and watched the fish monger show, which is another Seattle institution. I won’t ruin it for you with spoilers, but if you’re in the area it’s worth a look.

Seattle
All the spices in the world!
Seattle
The famous fish mongers

The next day we did do one proper tourist activity: the Museum of Flight. My boyfriend and I both work with technology (i.e. are nerds), so the museum of flight was perfect for us. All the history and interactive exhibitions are great, particularly the World War 1 and World War 2 exhibitions. But what I loved the most was being able to get up close, and sometimes even inside, the planes. My favourites were the UAV and the Space Simulator (pictured at the top of the page).

Seattle
A UAV at the Museum of Flight

Maybe the best part of visiting Seattle was knowing that, now we live in Vancouver, we’re bound to come back. And soon. There’s so much to do and only 3 hours drive from Vancouver, so there’s plenty of time to do it at a proper leisurely pace.

Leave a Reply

