Halloween and Costume Troubles

Halloween
Happy Halloween!

This weekend I’m going to my second ever Halloween party. I’m pretty excited. We don’t really do much for Halloween back home. I guess it’s just the wrong season; spring really isn’t that spooky. But I do enjoy costume parties and I have a serious sweet tooth so I think I could get into Halloween.

I’ve been told costumes are mandatory and there will be embarrassing things to wear if you show up without one. Which is fine by me, the only problem is I can’t think of anything to wear! I don’t want to spend a lot of money on a premade costume. I also don’t own a sewing machine, am not crash hot with face paint or have any inclination to build things out of cardboard. I know I’m limiting my options, but I’m looking for a truly simple DIY costume that doesn’t involve any of those things. Can anyone help me?

gian-lego-people
Photo Credit: Jennifer Rizzo

I’ve done a bit of online research, but very few of the ideas meet my strict criteria for ‘easy’. Life size lego men costumes, for example, look awesome but do not look easy. Similarly this skeleton costume looks relatively simple, but relies a lot on good make up. Which I’m not sure I could pull off.

sister-skeletons-15937-800x798
Photo Credit: Coolest Homemade Costumes

I’ll be doing the rounds of the downtown thrift stores this week. Here’s hoping inspiration falls out of the sky! Or out of the clothes rack. Either way, wish me luck and I hope you all have a great Halloween!

Leave a Reply

