First Month In Vancouver

Vancouver Seawall

Hello and welcome to the first post on Northern Lights; my own little corner of the internet. I’ve wanted to write a blog for a long time so I’m pretty excited about this site and what I’ll hopefully be doing with it.

I guess the first thing to do is introduce myself. My name is Ana and I’m an Australian who recently make the leap across the pond and moved to Vancouver. I’ve travelled in Canada a couple of times before, but each trip just left me wanting more. Eventually I thought I’m in my late twenties, I only have a few more years of easy visas, it’s time I take the plunge and just move. So a month ago I packed up my life in Oz, filled my suitcase with 23kgs of belongings (which is not much at all!) and hopped on a plane.

While I haven’t been here long I can honestly say I am so glad I came. Vancouver is a vibrant, beautiful city and, with the ski season just around the corner, I haven’t been this excited about winter in a long time!

As you can guess, this blog will mostly be about my move to Vancouver and the travelling I hope to do.  I’d like it to be a resource for anyone wanting to move to overseas but who doesn’t really know where to start. But I’m also hoping to write about on my other passions such as food, cooking, yoga and sustainability in general. Just looking over that list, Vancouver has a lot to offer on each count and I can’t wait to start exploring!

Gastown 
Gastown, Vancouver BC

One thought on “First Month In Vancouver

  1. Hi Ana! I can’t wait to read your future posts – I am moving to Vancouver in February of 2014, can’t wait! I also just created my first blog over at thetugboat.net

    Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

