Cafe Review: Thierry Chocolate Patisserie Café

My cafe reviews, if anyone has noticed, are not just reviews of cafe’s in my local area. I’m also slowly working my way through the Huffington Post’s ‘Best Coffee In Vancouver’ List. As a newcomer to the city, I thought I’d see what everyone else’s favourite coffees were. High on Huffington Post’s list is the Thierry Chocolate Patisserie Cafe.

Thierry Chocolate Patisserie Café
Thierry Chocolate Patisserie Cafe

REVIEW: Thierry Chocolate Patisserie Café
1059 Alberni St
West End, Downtown Vancouver

Rating: 2.5/5 Stars

Something I feel goes hand in hand with coffee are baked treats, such as macaroons. Macaroons can be a bit tricky though. It’s easy to dismiss them as pretentious and a waste of money; how many other French biscuits can charge $2.50 a pop? But, if reasonably priced, I do love a good macaroon. It’s the perfect bite sized treat and maybe it’s healthier to spend too much on a small biscuit than too little on a large, carb filled muffin. That’s what I tell myself at least.

Thierry Chocolate Patisserie Cafe
Macaroons, yum!

When I got to the Thierry Chocolate Patisserie Cafe, it was obvious that they could help me with my love of baked treats. I ordered a decadent looking cassis macaroon. Something I should admit though, is that I ordered it without knowing what cassis was. I had to google it afterwards. Crème de cassis, it turns out, is “sweet, dark red liqueur made from blackcurrants” and an excellent macaroon flavour. The macaroon was delicious and at $1 it’s easily the best I’ve had in Vancouver.

Something else I should admit to is that I ordered a cassis macaroon without knowing what cassis was. I had to google it afterwards. Crème de cassis, it turns out, is “sweet, dark red liqueur made from blackcurrants” and an excellent macaroon flavour. The macaroon was delicious and at $1 it’s easily the best I’ve had in Vancouver.
Creme de cassis, you learn something new every day

Thierry’s itself has a bit of a mixed atmosphere. It has the displays of a high end chocolatier, the queues of a bakery and the seating of a café. The interior is decorated in dark brown wood and they were playing French jazz when I visited (not just regular jazz, French jazz). All of this combines to give you the impression that you’re in a very fancy place.

Sadly, the coffee didn’t agree with this. It had a nice aroma, but a bitter aftertaste that lingered. My barista experience is limited, but I think it comes from not cleaning the machine properly. Not so terrible to black list the cafe, but I wouldn’t go back to Theirry for the coffee alone. If you’re looking for a sweet treat on Alberni St, Thierry Chocolate Patisserie Café is an easy choice. But if you’re looking for a really good coffee, I’d keep walking.

Leave a Reply

